OkinawaOkinawa Prefecture is made up of the Ryukyu Islands, which at their southern extremity begin at Nansei Island, and lie between Kyushu, the most southwesterly of Japan’s four main islands, and Taiwan. Okinawa consists of 160 islands of various size scattered across a vast area of ocean. The temperature in winter is about the same Read more


KumamotoA castle town reputed for its woodlands and fresh water. Residences of famous writers dot the landscape. Kumamoto, situated roughly in the center of Kumamoto Prefecture, is the government and economic center of the prefecture. From the early 17th century to the end of the 19th century, Kumamoto was prosperous as a castle town. The Read more